NAS Review of DOE’s Small Business Programs

Register for this Event  

The National Academies of Science’s Board on Science, Technology and Economic Policy will meet to review the Small Business Innovation Research and Small Business Technology Transfer Programs at the Department of Energy Review.Agenda:
Monday, May 21

9:00 AM Sponsor presentation from the Department of Energy
Manny Oliver, Director, SBIR & STTR Programs at the Department of Energy

9:45 AM Panel Discussion with SBIR Awardees
Karen LeVert, Southeast TechInventures, Inc.
Penelope Shevenell, Cyber Equations, Inc.

10:45 AM Break

11:00 AM Panel Discussion with Awardees, con’t
Erica Nemser, Compact Membrane Systems, Inc.
Mike Appleby, Mikro Systems, Inc. (2016 Tibbets Award Winner)
Georges Chahine, Dynaflow, Inc.

12:00 PM – End of open session. Closed session resumes.

Tuesday, May 22

9:30 AM Current research
Adam Jaffe, Brandeis University
Sabrina Howell, NYU Stern
David Popp, Syracuse
Winslow Sargeant, International Council for Small Business

11:00 AM – End of open session. Closed session resumes.

If you would like to attend the sessions of this meeting that are open to the public or need more information please contact: Karolina Konarzewska,, 202-334-2455


Keck Center, National Academies of Science
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington DC 20001

Loading Map....
Register for this Event